Fam in Real Life: Aaron Gabriel

Hey ya’ll!

Welcome to 2016! This legit is going to be the best year of all time, I am so excited! I did a lot of thinking, praying and pondering on New Years Eve (Because instead of hanging with friends and/or family I was babysitting two small children who were fast asleep. But it’s fine. I’m not bitter. I got $60 for sitting in a quiet household watching ABC and ringing in the new year alone. So it’s fine.) Actually though it really was fine, because I got to gather my thoughts about how I want 2016 to go and was able to also get some input from God as to how He thought 2016 should go. So as I sat there with my glass of orange juice and pink plastic bowl of veggie straws, watching the ball drop in Times Square at midnight, I silently gave my life up to God, and fell completely into peace. So now with my life in God’s (the Author of Love, the Inventor of Adventure, and the King of the World’s) hands, I cannot wait to see what He has in store for me this year!

Anyway! That’s just what’s been up with me so far this new year, and it is pretty much irrelevant in regards to this particular blog post. Except for the fact that as I was sitting and pondering and getting input from God on New Years Eve, I was having some really great ideas about my blog/ social media for this year. I have decided to introduce to the world (aka whoever reads this blog/my social media and whoever they share it to etc.) my family! On day at a time, one family member at a time, ya’ll can meet my large and dysfunctional fam. (Disclaimer: all nine of us children are biologically from our same two parents. This has been questioned multiple times hence why I am disclaiming it right now.)

I’m going youngest to oldest, so that starts us out with…

Aaron Gabriel. Age 3. (almost 4, in February). Affectionate and adventurous ninth child and baby of the family.

IMG_0580 (1)

Matthew 18:2-4 says, “at that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who, then, is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

Even though Aaron’s only 3, and I am not able to spend much time with him because of school, he’s taught me in his short life the value and virtue of child-likeness. His sweet innocence beautiful. His abundant affection and playfulness always provokes a smile. His excitement about the little things is contagious. Lately it’s come to my attention how very important it is to live life with a child-like attitude. I mean, as it clearly states in the Bible, unless you become like a child you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. When you’re a three year old little boy you rely on your parents and 8 older siblings for most everything. That is how God wants us to rely on Him. However as we grow older we begin to take on responsibilities for ourselves, so much so that life begins to feel more of a burden on our shoulders and something to be survived rather than lived to the fullest and filled with joy. We forget to trust that God has our lives wrapped in his hands, and that we must rely on Him to have everything under control and to provide for our every need. We forget to take things lightly, to laugh, and joke, and play like children because we feel weighed down by stress and the obligations of adulthood. We forget that the state of child-likeness is easily achieved if we only allow God to take care of our lives, and look to Him as a literal Father.

So as you all start out this exciting new year, keep in mind what my baby brother has showed me: that the path to true joy is living your life as a true child, looking to God as your true Father. Just be like children. It’s not that hard.

That’s all for now, stay tuned for the next sibling! And one last Happy New Year everyone! Make this one count, guys. It’s a special one. Stay Sweet.

~Cassie

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment