Fam in Real Life: Jesse Andrew

Moving right along!

Meet the next child, Jesse Andrew. Age 8 (almost 9, on January 20th). Intense and athletic seventh child and twin to Jeffrey.

IMG_0763

“But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” ~Isaiah 40:31

I feel so blessed to have Jesse as a brother. Even though he’s only almost nine, he’s one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever known. He thrives on running, focusing, and putting his all into whatever he’s doing. This kid started playing soccer when he was about four years old, on a recreational children’s team. Since then he’s fallen in love with the sport and always is trying to be a better player and teammate. He’s constantly kicking a ball around the house, practicing his footwork; or messing around with my other brother’s high school team, making himself better by playing with the bigger, older boys. Jesse has always been smallest in stature on pretty much every team he’s played for, but possesses more talent than any of the others. His dedication has lead him to be able to play any position: goalie, defense, or offense. My entire family swears that he’s going to go on to play for the World Cup one day.

The verse that I put for him is very appropriate because the Lord has given him so much strength. Right now since he is so young, there hasn’t been really many extreme life experiences in which he is able to apply his strength is a different way other than sports, but I know that in future he is going to prove himself to be not only physically strong, but also mentally and emotionally. I can tell he is going to be a rock in our family, calm and unwavering.

The values my brother has taught me are beneficial to everyone. First, whatever you do, give it your all. Go the extra mile, give it one hundred percent, be the best at everything you do. Life is too short to be mediocre. We were not created by God to be only ok. We are able to excel at every single thing we do if we have the determination. Second, rely on the Lord for all your strength. I don’t think we realize how easy it is for us to just say, “God, I’m struggling. I need your help, your love, and your comfort. I’m laying all my burdens down at your feet for you to take away from me. Please give me the strength to go on” We can say this any time we are going through a hardship, and yet a lot of the time we don’t. Maybe because we don’t realize that it will actually help, maybe we’re stubborn and prideful, or maybe we just don’t think to, but I’m telling you, this is what God wants. He says, “come to me all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” We are not capable of helping others unless we ourselves have first been helped by our Father. If we only resolve to renew our hope in our God, the Bible says we will fly like on the wings of eagles and never grow weary. We will be unstoppable, just as my eight year old brother is on the soccer field. We are made for greatness. All we need to achieve this greatness is the hope and find strength in our Savior.

That’s all folks! But I want you to really think about what I wrote today. I’m realizing more and more that as children of God, we are obligated to be great, to make history, to bring glory to Him in all that we do by being amazing at all that we do. Anyho, the next sibling is coming soon so stay tuned and stay sweet.

~Cassie

 

 

Leave a comment