Here We Go Again!

Hey everybody!

Wow. Oh my word, it’s been a while. So long, in fact, that when I checked up on my “About” page, it still showed that I was a nursing major. Lol. That feels like forever ago, and certainly many things have changed. So! I’ve updated the “About” page, and if you want accurate information about where I’m at in my life right now, you can go ahead and look there. If you want elaboration on my life, you can absolutely contact me on any of the social media links which are provided at the bottom of the “About” page.

Moving forward. My last post was an edition of my “Fam in Real Life” series, which I plan to finish, because every one of my wonderful siblings/parents deserved to be talked about, and their amazing qualities highlighted. For now though, I’m just going to do a little recap on my recent thoughts and experiences.

It’s been almost a year since I blogged. So many things change in a year, it’s crazy — my major, my passions, all my plans. My life was broken down and put back together. So now after this semester at Grand Valley, I have two more until I graduate in December, 2017. I’ll have just turned 20. This prospect of being introduced to the “real world” earlier than is usual has me feeling as anxious as a squirrel who has collected minimal nuts while winter is fast approaching. I feel so unprepared, yet so restless to get out and pursue the life God has called me to, explore His many creations, and love on His people all over the world. Do I know what that life is like, and what it entails? Uh, nope! I am so in the dark, it’s not even funny. However, after many long talks with God, trying to convince Him to make it clear to me (with not much success), and wrestling with doubt and worry on a daily basis, I’ve succeeded in building the strongest bond with the Lord I have ever experienced because I spent so much time with Him trying to get what I thought I needed, that He had the opportunity to instill in me what he knew I needed. Did I get the information I wanted? No. Did I get what God had for me? Absolutely.

Not only through my talks with Him, but through talks with friends, church sermons, concerts, music, youtube videos, journaling, painting, crazy experiences, new friendships and time in solitude have I discovered that God may not always give us what we want or anticipate, but always gives us what we need. Of course, I’ve heard that a million times; but being stubborn and annoying, I had to come to that realization through personal experience. I may have no clue what He has in store, but I now know that as long as I continually immerse myself in His word, surround myself with His people, give thanks in all situations, and am confident in my identity in Him, I honestly don’t have any reason to worry about anything. As long as I am with Him, I can be fearless. I needed a relationship with my Father, not all the answers. And through my impatient personality, I found that. Am I still restless? Yes. It’s who I am. But God gave me what I needed to ease the stress of the unknowns: peace in Him.

Moral of the story, God has amazing plans for each and every one of His children. God will work everything out in His own perfect timing. God changes things in your life because He loves you more intensely than we can ever understand, and He knows what we need more than we do. God wants us to live in the present, and revel in what He has for us now, leaving the future to the future. I am an immensely imperfect human, but I have a perfect God.

That’s all my thoughts for today. It’s good to be back.

-cass

Leave a comment