Do Hard Things Pt. 2 ~ Trusting God

Hey peeps! Not gonna lie, I’ve been putting off writing this blog post for a while now because it’s something that I struggle with a lot, especially in the past week or two. I felt a bit inept talking about it, honestly. But it’s ok now! I talked to many wise friends/family of mine and they helped me hugely. So everything is awesome. (If you got the Lego Movie reference props to you).

So. Trusting God. Not the easiest thing in the world. In the 21st century we have a lot to be stressed about: our relationships, school, careers, family, friends, health, job, income, etc. We often attempt to take these things into our own hands. Obviously we’re not supposed to sit around waiting for God to drop an education in our laps, hand us a career, and teleport our future spouse right into our living rooms. However we are supposed to pray to God for strength of mind when we study, discernment about what career He has for us, and for patience and holiness before and during relationships.

All those are some of the hardest things I’ve dealt with throughout high school and college so far. My personality type is one that always anticipates and plans the future, and wants to have control. It doesn’t help that I have quite the lack of patience.Those all added up equals very difficult for me to have trust in God, that know that He has my life in his hands, He is the author of my story, He works all things out for the good of those who love Him. The past couples weeks especially I’ve struggled a lot with trust. There are so many possibilities and opportunities in this world; I could move the California, to Florida, to South America. I could be a speaker, a writer, an actress, a missionary, a nun. I could join the peace core, join a ministry, adopt a bunch of beautiful, wonderful children who have no family or home. The list goes on. And on. (God bless my mother dearest who was the recipient of all my eager phone calls every time I had a knew idea).

In the end, all these ideas became a burden. I was stressed all the time because I felt the need to have a plan for the future asap. But after talking to my mother, and a few other people close to my heart, they helped me come to the realization that trusting God with our lives and our future is so very important. Also, living in the present, living your life one day at a time, is the best way to show your trust in God. Each morning you give that day up to Him, letting Him write your story for you. This is what I’ve been working on. It’s definitely not easy for me, I still have little worries about what to do with my life, but I’m taking baby steps. Putting yourself in His hands and laying your plans at his feet takes away so much unnecessary anxiety.

Recently this girl I know of got engaged. Her and her fiancé are so much in love, and more in love with God. Their joy is contagious, even if I only see it over social media. She writes about how God worked in their lives, wrote their love story, and brought them together. Whenever I read her posts, I think: look at their happiness, crafted by God’s works and timing. Why should we ever be anxious about the future when the Creator of the universe made his beautiful plans for me before I even was conceived? It’s amazing, really. God honestly is taking care of the hard part, and it is my (much less) hard part to trust and wait patiently.

Proverbs 3:5-6 “5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”
So I’ll leave you with that. Also! Stay tuned for some exciting new posts about the kids from Key of Hope who came to Grand Valley and changed my life, AND some about Thanksgiving and giving thanks! Have a safe holiday tomorrow, eat lots of yummy stuff (not too much, feeling sick afterwards is not worth the food. I know this from experience.) and give much thanks for all your many, many blessings! Stay sweet.
~Cassie

Leave a comment