Black Friday Meets Mission Trip Registration

Last night was one of the most beautiful nights of my entire life. The Christian organization that I’m involved in here at GV, Campus Ministry, had their sign up for spring break missions trips this morning. There are 16 different mission trip locations that have room for about 15 students each.The different destinations offer a unique experience to serve others and spread God’s light and love. I figured that since registration started at 7am, I would get to the registration building at 6am, which would be early enough to beat everyone else, and sign up for the trip I wanted before all the slots filled up.

Well. I was wrong. Quite wrong actually. People started setting up hammocks and pitching tents outside the building at 10:30 pm the night before. (Thank you Lord for Snapchat stories or else I would have been unaware of the abnormally early arrival of these enthusiastic competitive Christian college students.) Luckily, my friends and I made it out there by midnight, after speedily waddling across campus hauling the necessary provisions (pillows, blankets, honey wheat pretzels, etc.). We secured ourselves a respectable spot between Tentman, a guy with an impressive tent who’s actual name remains a mystery, and a group of 3 hardcore girls who all squeezed onto one twin-sized air mattress for the night. And so began the night I have entitled Black Friday Meets Mission Trip Registration.

I don’t know what I was the most thankful for; the absolutely PERFECT weather (Clear skies and warm temp–in November..?! Yes please.); being surrounded by so many amazing people (Honestly, these people brought long boards, guitars, cajóns, frisbees, hammocks, and spike ball to play around with while waiting to sign up for a trip during which they would joyfully serve people all over the country? Where have ya’ll been all my life?); or the fact that my first class wasn’t until noon the next morning. Meaning that after sleeping for one solid hour during the night, I was going straight to my beloved bed to crash in the most ungraceful way possible after registering.

Fast forwarding to 7am, after an exhilarating night of no sleep, much laughter, and many hipster vibes, I was fortunate enough to be the first to sign up for the Wimauma, Florida destination; where my team and I will bring the love of Jesus to the farm workers there, participate in their Sunday and Tuesday worship, help with food distribution and relief, build relationships with the children and adults in the area, and repair homes. I’m beyond thrilled not only to have the opportunity to share Christ with these people, but also to be working with an awesome team AND being able to test out my self-proclaimed Spanish fluency. Prayers would be greatly appreciated as I spiritually, mentally, and emotionally prepare for this trip. I’ll take as much support as I can get. Also, brace yourselves for excitable and sporadic updates because I will undoubtably be bringing this future excursion up multiple more times.

Ok, well that does it for me for now. I couldn’t think of a smoother transition with which to end this entry so this is it. Until next time. Stay sweet.

~Cassie

Leave a comment